-10% on your first purchase: Code GANS10

Good to know

DAUNE

Bulking power/filling power
The fill power is a quality characteristic of down and describes its capacity to store air.

In Europe, two units of measurement are commonly used: millimeter/30gr or cuin (cubic inch). In the Anglo-American area, due to the different metric systems, the measurement in cuin is mostly used.

Filling power in cuin indicates to what volume one ounce (~ 28 grams) of down expands after compression. Thus, fill power in cuin describes the ability of down to regain its original volume after compression. The higher the value, the higher the quality of the down. The fill power ranges from about 300 cuin for feathers to about 900 cuin for the highest quality down.

Filling power measured in millimeters is the height (in millimeters) of the volume occupied by the filling material after it has been subjected to a defined pressure. This measurement variant is used in Europe.

Method: 30 grams of washed and sorted down are filled into a measuring cylinder and loosened up by blowing in air for a specified period of time. Then a pressure plate and a measuring rod are inserted into the cylinder. This pressure plate moves downwards and compresses the down. After the specified period of time, a reading is taken of the value at which the pressure plate has stopped and the height indicated on the measuring rod. The filling force can vary between 70 mm/30gr for feathers and a value of 230 mm/30gr for the Best down quality vary.

The higher the filling power, the more air a certain weight of down can trap, and the more insulating capacity the down has. The filling power ensures that the air chambers inside the down, which are important for thermal insulation, are formed again and again. Their elasticity and dimensional stability make it possible that down does not get damaged even in case of great loads.

However, the warmth of a down comforter depends not only on the filling power, but also on the amount of filling. For example, a comforter with a filling power of 700 cuin is much lighter than one with 550 cuin, because it needs less down for the same warmth. As the quality of the down increases, the amount of down required to achieve a comparable air cushion volume decreases.
Downprovides warmth by trapping a layer of air that separates the cold side from the warm side. A thicker layer of trapped air provides more insulation. This thickness is often referred to as "loft." For example, a comforter that has a down fill with a fill power of 550 cuin would need to use about 40% to 50% more down weight than a comforter whose down fill has a fill power of 800 to develop the same insulating ability.

Classification of GANS down comforters

Down comforter Basic: 170mm/30gr - 670 cuin
Down comforter Star de Luxe: 190mm/30gr - 750 cuin
Down comforter Royal: 210mm/30gr - 820 cuin
Down comforter Supreme: 230mm/30gr - 850+ cuin

Excellent fillings require high quality covers
Cotton covers have proven to be ideal, as it has several properties that make it suitable as a cover for down and feather products. On the one hand, it is soft and skin-friendly. Due to its structure, it allows the necessary freedom of yarn to weave soft and supple fabrics from it. Despite its fineness, it has high strength and low elasticity. Cotton creates a pleasantly dry sleeping climate and does not electrostatically charge the body during sleep (unlike synthetic bedding) when you move frequently.

Only down-proof woven fabrics can be used for down and feather products. There are three basic weave types for woven fabrics:
The plain weave, the twill weave and the atlas weave (satin weave) . GANS mainly uses fabrics with plain weave and satin weave:

  • Fine bastist/linen weave: superfine fabric weighing only about 80 grams per square meter. Ideal for high-quality, large-flock down fillings.
  • Batist/linen weave: Fine weave for blankets with large fluff fillings, weight is approximately 90 grams/square meter.
  • Percale/linen weave: weight about 110 grams/square meter, this fabric is also used for blankets and soft pillows.
  • Satin/Atlas weave: Atlas weave results in a highly lustrous, smooth top side and a matte bottom side. Depending on the type of fiber and yarn, satin can be light or heavy, matte or high-gloss, flowing or stiff. Weight. Approx. 125gr/sqm.

The covers of our Goose down quilts are made of fine batiste, batiste or fine satin. Cotton percale is often used for Bed linen processed.

Thread Count
Number of threads per square centimeter (sq cm).

Thread Counts (TC)
Another quality characteristic of a cover fabric is the fineness of the textile. This is expressed in "thread count" or "Nm" value. While the English bedding industry prefers to indicate the "Thread Count" (literally: number of threads), the term Nm value stands for "number metric" and was prescribed as a measure of yarn fineness in Germany from 1942 to 1969.

Basically, higher counts do not necessarily guarantee better quality. A good cotton fabric is all about the balance between down density, breathability and softness.

Thread Counts also called thread count per square inch, is a measure of the coarseness or fineness of the fabric. It is measured by counting the number of threads contained in one square inch of fabric, including both length (warp) and width (weft). Thread count is the number of threads counted along two sides (up and across) of the square inch. It is used particularly in reference to cotton linens, especially bed linens, and is known to have been used in the classification of towels. There is a common misconception that thread count plays an important role when buying bed linen. However, linen experts claim that there is no difference in quality from a thread count of 400.

Lifespan of down comforters
A down comforter lives longer the more filling power it has, the less chemical stress it is exposed to and the better it is cared for. This includes regular shaking and professional cleaning.
Attention: a down comforter should never lie directly in the sun!


Warmth level of a down
comforter
Down comforters are divided into different strengths. You can see which thickness and the associated degree of warmth of a quilt is optimal for you here.

Austrian pasture goose - Limited by nature

The pasture-raised goose is called a grazing goose because it is allowed to go out to pasture every day. What sounds so natural is unfortunately much rarer today than one might think. That is why committed Austrian small-scale farmers have joined forces. Under the quality label "Österreichische Weidegans" they breed geese in a species-appropriate manner.
The feathers and down obtained are exclusively from non-living geese.

A pure natural product from happy grazing geese.

From the fourth week of life, the goslings can go out to pasture for the first time. After seven weeks they are then hardy enough to be out in the pasture in all weathers. Through this natural rearing, the down dress naturally develops to the very highest quality.

The cackling feathered fowl thanks them, among other things, with down that others can only dream of. This species-appropriate husbandry naturally limits the quantity of animals kept. Each year, we can only fill a few hundred blankets with this precious down. As a limited edition, each blanket is truly unique and of the highest quality.

FILLINGS

Alpaca
Alpacas are extremely valuable animals. Their wool is an exquisite raw material and a noble gift of nature. A life expectancy of 15 to 20 years makes shearing the animals over their lifetime far more profitable for alpaca farmers than the individual coat. In keeping with the values of Soft Alpaca, only skins from animals whose lives have come to a natural end, such as due to their age or the harsh climatic conditions in the highlands of the Andes, are used. With the products of Soft-Alpaca you enjoy ethically unobjectionable luxury, for the existence of which no animal has been harmed or suffered.

Cashmere
Cashmere has the finest crimp of any natural hair and unsurpassed warmth retention and is suitable for people with high heat needs. The incomparable fineness of the downy hairs gives them an all-surpassing softness and cuddliness.
->
Cashmer blanket

Down 
Read more
here

Hemp

The warmth of
thehemp filling is due to its air trapping hollow fibers, which makes hemp the warmest plant fiber.Hemp is an ecologically valuable crop and extremely environmentally friendly in cultivation. No pesticides are needed for cultivation, the water requirement is low and the yield is very high.

->
Hemp blanket

Camel hair
Camels live in climates with extreme temperature fluctuations of up to 60°C between day and night. Perfectly adapted to these conditions, their coat has a highly effective temperature-balancing function. It has the properties of a "natural air conditioner", which on the one hand provides excellent warmth, but thanks to maximum breathability also protects against heat.
-> Camel hair blanket

Linen
Linen, the "silk of the north", can absorb more than a third of its weight in moisture without feeling damp, but dries again very quickly. Linen therefore has a pleasantly fresh effect, especially on summer nights.

Virgin sheep wool
Filling made of virgin sheep's wool are pleasantly air-conditioning, moisture-regulating and air-permeable. Virgin sheep's wool by nature has a high self-cleaning power and is therefore easy to maintain.
-> Cushion Lana Vital

Outlast
Outlast® materials absorb excess body heat, store it and release it again. This results in a permanent comfort cycle whose temperature is actively regulated.
Read more: http://www.outlast.com/de/einsatzgebiete/bettwaren/
->
Products with Outlast technology

Tencel
A natural functional fiber obtained from the raw material wood. Blankets with Tencel filling are suitable for people with little need for warmth. Tencel provides an ideal sleeping climate thanks to its temperature and moisture regulating properties.
-> Products with Tencel

Vitasan
The specially developed 4-hole Vitasan® hollow fiber in Wellness Vitasan bedding not only provides excellent sleeping comfort, but also inhibits the development of dust mites within the fiber filling. The fiber also reduces the growth of fungi and bacteria necessary for the dust mite food chain, ensuring a hygienic and hypoallergenic product.

Due to their 4-hole shape, Vitasan® hollow fibers are exceptionally light and breathable - and the filling can store extra warm air. To ensure the best hygiene, Wellness Vitasan bedding is washable at 60°C and suitable for tumble drying.
->
Vitasan products

Wild silk
The precious, gossamer wild silk from the Tussah spinner can absorb a lot of moisture and also dries again quickly. Like the cocoon for the silk moth, are Silk comforters cuddly envelopes that surround us at night, giving us security and a pleasant microclimate.

FROTTIER

Not all terry towelling is the same
Here it is necessary to make a clear distinction, because the difference lies in the method of production:
Terrycloth is a smooth fabric produced by twisting the yarn. Terry, on the other hand, is not a smooth fabric, it has fine loops on both sides that are raised by the weaving process. A terry towel feels softer and is of higher quality than terry cloth.

In terry we can further distinguish between woollen, twisted and velour terry:
Woollen terry consists of loose loops of a soft yarn, while twisted terry consists of twisted yarns and is firmer to the touch. Velour terry, on the other hand, is soft and velvety. The combination of velvety velour terry on the outside and the absorbent, cuddly twisted terry on the inside, as is often the case with bathrobes, offers a high level of wearer comfort.


Quality features terry
Terry cloth is measured in grams per square meter (gr/sqm) and indicates the weight of a towel. The higher the weight, the thicker a towel is. A higher weight is usually associated with a higher quality, more luxurious and softer towel.

FABRICS

Cotton
Cotton is the natural fiber most commonly used in the manufacture of textiles. It iskind to the skin, breathable and, thanks to its structure, particularly versatile.

Cupro
The textile fiber Cupro is also known as copper silk or copper fiber and has similar properties to viscose . Cupro consists of cellolose regenerates and is considered an artificial silk product. It is suitable for bedding because it is breathable, moisture retaining and does not build up static electricity. Another advantage of cupro is its soft, smooth, silky feel. Cupro can be washed at 30 degrees and also ironed. The fiber is especially interesting for allergy sufferers and vegans, as it is 100% vegetable.

Damask
The fabric is made of super combed cotton, is very tightly woven and has a slight sheen. It owes its name to its origin, the Syrian capital Damascus. The material impresses with its unique woven pattern, which makes it look very noble. Damask bed linen is, like any cotton of course, very skin-friendly, moisture-regulating and suitable for both summer and winter.

Jacquard
By this is meant a certain type of weave for fabrics, which allows design with patterns. The inventor was Joseph-Marie Jacquard. Various fabrics can be woven in this technique, including cotton, silk, viscose or even synthetic fabrics. The most famous Jacquard fabrics are brocade, matelassé, or damask.
-> To our Bed linen jacquard fabrics.

Linen
The fibers of this fabric are considered to be particularly durable and ecologically valuable. Linen can absorb a lot of moisture, therefore is Linen bedding very popular especially in summer. The surface of the material is smooth and has a cooling effect on the skin. It is also said that "linen is like good wine" - because the fabric develops and gets better with each use.

Maco satin
One of the finest fabrics for bed linen is Mako satin. It has a subtle sheen, which makes it look very classy, it is also smooth, breathable and climate regulating and is suitable for both summer and winter. High quality Egyptian cotton is used in its production.

Percale
The name comes from the Persian pargalah (meaning cloth) and refers to a tightly woven, medium-weight, fine-threaded cotton fabric made in plain weave. The fabric is strong, durable and has a smooth, skin-friendly surface. Because of its breathable properties and pleasantly cool feel, percale is very often used for Summer bedding used for the home.

Poplin
Due to its plain weave, this fine fabric has a light and fine ribbed structure with a soft drape. At the same time, the special weave makes poplin very hard-wearing.

Satin
Satin is especially known for its surface sheen, while the fabric is matte on the underside. It owes this appearance to its manufacture, the atlas weave (also satin weave). In this weave, the weft threads predominate on the upper side and the warp threads on the underside.
->Satin bedding

Silk
A fine shimmer and a noble appearance distinguish this natural product. Silk is cool on the skin and the smooth fabric provides a pleasant feeling on the skin due to its lightness and breathability, especially on warm summer nights. Silk absorbs moisture very well and in turn dries very quickly. A fabric that is also suitable for allergy sufferers, as the surface prevents the nesting of dust mites.
-> To our silk products.

Tencel
Tencel™ is No. 1 in moisture management, skin-friendly, ideal for allergy sufferers, produced in an environmentally friendly way and reduces bacterial growth .The German Environmental Aid has calculated that 263 liters of water must be used for one kilogram of Lyocell fibers, 5,000 liters for organic cotton and as much as 11,000 liters for conventional cotton. TENCEL™ Micro fibers consist of pure cellulose and combine the pleasant properties of cotton with the pearlescent shimmer of silk.
-> Bed linen made from TENCEL

Silk
A fine shimmer and a noble look characterize this natural product. Silk is cool on the skin and the smooth fabric provides a pleasant feeling on the skin due to its lightness and breathability, especially on warm summer nights. Silk absorbs moisture very well and in turn dries very quickly. A fabric that is also suitable for allergy sufferers, since the surface prevents the nesting of dust mites.
-> To our silk products.

Viscose
Strictly speaking, viscose belongs to the chemical fibers, although its basic material is cellulose obtained from wood. Mostly beech wood is used, but also spruce, pine or eucalyptus wood. Currently, more and more bamboo wood is used. The fiber itself is produced industrially on a chemical basis and does not grow naturally, like cotton. Viscose is therefore a man-made fiber with a natural origin.

Long staple vs. short staple
The length of the fibers is called the staple.
Long staple organic cotton is mostly used for the production of luxury bed linen. This creates long, strong cotton fibers of particularly good quality, from which more durable and softer bed linen can be made. Long fibers, compared to short fibers, do not protrude from the fabric. Bed linen made of long staple cotton remains permanently beautiful and lint-free.




Sources: Wikipedia, Hefel, Kauffmann

KUSCHELAKTION -15% auf alles, Code HOME15

GANS gut zu wissen

DAUNE

Bauschkraft/Füllkraft
Die Füllkraft oder Bauschkraft (engl.: Fill Power) ist ein Qualitätsmerkmal der Daunen und beschreibt ihre Kapazität, Luft zu speichern.

Im europäischen Raum sind zwei Maßeinheiten üblich: Millimeter/30gr oder cuin (cubic inch). Im angloamerikanisch geprägtem Raum wird meist, aufgrund der unterschiedlichen metrischen Systeme, die Messung in cuin verwendet.

Füllkraft in cuin zeigt an, auf welches Volumen sich eine Unze (~ 28 Gramm) Daunen nach der Kompression ausdehnt. Die Füllkraft in cuin beschreibt also die Fähigkeit, wie stark Daunen ihr ursprüngliches Volumen nach dem Zusammendrücken zurückgewinnen. Je höher der Wert, desto hochwertiger ist die Daune. Die Füllkraft reicht von ca. 300 cuin für Federn bis hin zu ca. 900 cuin für die hochwertigste Daune.

Die Füllkraft in Millimeter gemessen, ist die Höhe (in Millimeter) des vom Füllmaterial eingenommenen Volumens, nachdem dieses einem definierten Druck ausgesetzt wurde. Diese Messvariante wird in Europa verwendet.

Methode: 30 Gramm gewaschene und sortierte Daunen werden in einen Messzylinder gefüllt und durch Einblasen von Luft während einer festgelegten Zeitspanne aufgelockert. Dann werden eine Andruckplatte und ein Messstab in den Zylinder eingesetzt. Diese Andruckplatte bewegt sich nach unten und drückt die Daunen zusammen. Nach der festgelegten Zeitspanne wird abgelesen, bei welchem Wert die Andruckplatte stehen geblieben ist und welche Höhe am Messstab angezeigt wird. Die Füllkraft kann zwischen 70 mm/30gr für Federn und einem Wert von 230 mm/30gr für die beste Daunen-Qualität variieren.

Je höher die Füllkraft, desto mehr Luft kann ein bestimmtes Gewicht der Daune einfangen, und desto mehr Isolierfähigkeit hat die Daune. Die Füllkraft sorgt dafür, dass sich immer wieder die für die Wärmeisolation wichtigen Luftkammern innerhalb der Daunen bilden. Ihre Elastizität und Formbeständigkeit ermöglichen, dass Daunen auch bei grossen Belastungen keinen Schaden nehmen.

Die Wärme einer Daunendecke hängt jedoch nicht nur von der Füllkraft, sondern auch von der Füllmenge ab. So ist eine Decke mit einer Füllkraft von 700 cuin gegenüber einer mit 550 cuin wesentlich leichter, da sie für die gleiche Wärmeleistung weniger Daunen braucht. Mit steigender Qualität der Daunen sinkt die erforderliche Daunenmenge, um ein vergleichbares Luftpolstervolumen zu erzielen.
Daunen liefern Wärme, indem sie eine Luftschicht einfangen, die die kalte Seite von der warmen Seite trennt. Eine dickere Schicht eingeschlossener Luft sorgt für mehr Isolierung. Diese Dicke wird oft als „Loft“ bezeichnet. Eine Decke, die beispielsweise eine Daunenfüllung mit einer Füllkraft von 550 cuin hat, müsste etwa 40 % bis 50 % mehr Daunengewicht verwenden als eine Decke  deren Daunenfüllung eine Füllkraft von 800 hat, um die gleiche Isolationsfähigkeit zu entwickeln.

Einteilung der GANS-Daunendecken

Daunendecke Basic: 170mm/30gr - 670 cuin
Daunendecke Star de Luxe: 190mm/30gr - 750 cuin
Daunendecke Royal:  210mm/30gr - 820 cuin
Daunendecke Supreme: 230mm/30gr - 900 cuin

Exzellente Füllungen benötigen hochwertige Hüllen
Als ideal haben sich Hüllen aus Baumwolle erwiesen, da diese mehrere Eigenschaften besitzt, die sich als Hülle für Daunen- und Federnprodukte eignen. Einerseits ist sie weich und hautfreundlich. Durch ihre Struktur ermöglicht sie die nötige Garnfreiheit, um daraus weiche und anschmiegsame Stoffe zu weben. Trotz ihrer Feinheit besitzt sie eine hohe Festigkeit und eine geringe Elastizität. Baumwolle stellt ein angenehm trockenes Schlafklima her und lädt den Körper im Schlaf (im Gegensatz zu synthetischen Bettwaren) nicht elektrostatisch auf, wenn man sich häufig bewegt.

Für Daunen- und Federnprodukte kommen ausschliesslich daunendichte Webstoffe in Frage. Bei den Webstoffen gibt es drei Grundbindungsarten:
Die Leinwandbindung, die Köperbindung und die Atlasbindung (Satinbindung) . Bei GANS kommen hauptsächlich Stoffe mit Leinwand- und Atlasbindung zum Einsatz:

  • Feinbastist/Leinwandbindung: Superfeines Gewebe mit nur ca. 80 Gramm Gewicht pro Quadratmeter. Ideal für hochwertige, großflockige Daunenfüllungen.
  • Batist/Leinwandbindung: Feines Gewebe für Decken mit großflockiger Füllung, das Gewicht beträgt ca. 90 Gramm/Quadratmeter.
  • Perkal/Leinwandbindung: Gewicht ca. 110 Gramm/Quadratmeter, dieses Gewebe wird ebenfalls für Decken und weiche Kissen eingesetzt.
  • Satin/Atlasbindung: Durch die Atlasbindung ergibt sich eine stark glänzende, glatte Oberseite und eine matte Unterseite. Je nach Faserart und Garn kann Satin leicht oder schwer, matt- oder hochglänzend, fließend oder steif sein. Gewicht. ca. 125gr/qm.

Die Hüllen unserer Gans-Daunendecken bestehen aus Feinbatist, Batist oder Feinsatin. Baumwoll-Perkal wird gerne für Bettwäsche verarbeitet.

Fadenzahl
Anzahl der Fäden pro Quadratzentimeter (qcm).

Thread Counts (TC)
Ein weiteres Qualitätsmerkmal eines Hüllengewebes ist die Feinheit der Textilie. Diese wird in "Thread Count" oder "Nm"-Wert angegeben. Während die englische Bettwarenindustrie die Angabe des "Thread Counts" (wörtlich: Anzahl der Fäden) bevorzugt, steht der Begriff Nm-Wert für "Nummer metrisch" und war von 1942 bis 1969 in Deutschland als Mass der Garnfeinheit vorgeschrieben.

Grundsätzlich garantieren höhere Werte nicht unbedingt eine bessere Qualität. Bei einem guten Baumwollgewebe geht es um die Balance zwischen Daunendichte, Atmungsaktivität und Weichheit.

Thread Counts auch Fadenzahl per Quadrat-Zoll genannt, ist ein Maß für die Grobheit oder Feinheit des Gewebes. Es wird gemessen, indem die Anzahl der Fäden gezählt wird, die in einem Quadratzoll Stoff enthalten sind, einschließlich sowohl der Länge (Kette) als auch der Breite (Schuss). Die Fadenzahl ist die Anzahl der Fäden, die entlang zweier Seiten (nach oben und quer) des Quadratzoll gezählt werden. Es wird insbesondere in Bezug auf Baumwollwäsche, vor allem Bettwäsche verwendet und ist bekanntermaßen bei der Klassifizierung von Handtüchern verwendet worden. Es gibt ein weit verbreitetes Missverständnis, dass die Fadenzahl beim Kauf von Bettwäsche eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Leinenexperten behaupten jedoch, dass es ab einer Fadenzahl von 400 keinen Qualitätsunterschied mehr gibt. 

Lebensdauer von Daunendecken
Eine Daunendecke lebt umso länger, je mehr Füllkraft sie besitzt, je weniger chemischen Belastungen sie ausgesetzt ist und je besser sie gepflegt wird. Dazu gehören regelmäßiges Aufschütteln und eine professionelle Reinigung.
Achtung: eine Daunendecke sollte nie direkt in der Sonne liegen!

Wärmegrad einer Daunendecke
Daunendecken werden in unterschiedliche Stärken eingeteilt. Welche Stärke und er damit verbundene Wärmegrad einer Decke für Sie optimal ist, sehen Sie hier.

FÜLLUNGEN

Cashmere
Cashmere verfügt über die feinste Kräuselung aller Naturhaare und über ein schlechthin unübertreffliches Wärmerückhaltevermögen und ist für Menschen mit hohem Wärmebedürfnis geeignet. Die unvergleichliche Feinheit der Flaumhaare verleiht ihnen eine alles übertreffende Weichheit und Anschmiegsamkeit.
-> 
Cashmeredecke

Daune 
Mehr dazu hier

Hanf
Die Wärmefähigkeit verdankt die Hanffüllung ihren lufteinschließenden Hohlfasern, was Hanf zur wärmsten Pflanzenfaser macht. Hanf ist eine ökologisch wertvolle Nutzpflanze und äußert umweltverträglich im Anbau. Für den Anbau werden keine Pflanzenschutzmittel benötigt, der Wasserbedarf ist gering und der Ertrag sehr hoch.
-> Hanfdecke

Kamelhaar
Kamele leben in Klimazonen mit extremen Temperaturschwankungen bis zu 60°C zwischen Tag und Nacht. Perfekt an diese Bedingungen angepasst, verfügt ihr Haarkleid über eine hocheffektive temperaturausgleichende Funktion. Es hat die Eigenschaften einer "natürlichen Klimaanlage", die einerseits ausgezeichnet wärmt, dank höchster Atmungsaktivität aber auch vor Hitze schützt.
-> Kamelhaardecke

Leinen
Leinen, die „Seide des Nordens“, kann mehr als ein Drittel ihres Gewichtes an Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen, ohne sich feucht anzufühlen, trocknet aber sehr schnell wieder. Leinen wirkt daher vor allem in Sommernächten angenehm frisch.

Schafschurwolle
Füllung aus Schafschurwolle sind angenehm klimatisierend, feuchtigkeitsregulierend und luftdurchlässig. Schafschurwolle hat von Natur aus eine hohe Selbstreinigungskraft und ist daher leicht zu pflegen.
-> Polster Lana Vital

Outlast
Outlast®-Materialien nehmen überschüssige Körperwärme auf, speichern diese und geben sie wieder ab. Daraus ergibt sich ein permanenter Komfortkreislauf, dessen Temperatur aktiv reguliert wird.
Mehr dazu: http://www.outlast.com/de/einsatzgebiete/bettwaren/
-> Produkte mit der Outlast-Technologie

Tencel
Eine natürliche Funktionsfaser, die aus dem Rohstoff Holz gewonnen wird. Decken mit Tencelfüllung eignen sich für Menschen mit wenig Wärmebedürfnis. Tencel sorgt für ein ideales Schlafklima dank seiner temperatur- und feuchtigkeitsregulierenden Eigenschaften.
-> Produkte mit Tencel 

Vitasan
Die speziell entwickelte 4-Loch Vitasan®-Hohlfaser in Wellness Vitasan Bettwaren bieten nicht nur exzellenten Schlafkomfort, sondern hemmen auch die Entwicklung von Hausstaubmilben innerhalb der Faserfüllung. Die Faser vermindert außerdem das Wachstum von Pilzen und Bakterien, die für die Nahrungskette der Hausstaubmilben notwendig sind, und sorgt so für ein hygienisches und hypoallergenes Produkt.

Aufgrund ihrer 4-Loch-Form sind Vitasan®-Hohlfasern außergewöhnlich leicht und atmungsaktiv – und die Füllung kann besonders viel warme Luft speichern. Um beste Hygiene sicherzustellen, sind Wellness Vitasan-Bettwaren bei 60°C waschbar und trocknergeeignet.
->
Vitasan-Produkte

Wildseide
Die kostbare, hauchzarte Wildseide vom Tussah-Spinner kann sehr viel Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen und trocknet auch schnell wieder. Wie der Kokon für den Seidenspinner, sind Seiden-Bettdecken anschmiegsame Hüllen, die uns nachts umgeben, und Geborgenheit und ein angenehmes Mikroklima schenken.

FROTTIER

Frottier ist nicht gleich Frottee
Hier muss man deutlich unterscheiden, denn der Unterschied liegt in der Art der Herstellung:
Frottee ist ein Glattgewebe, das durch das Drehen des Garns erzeugt wird. Frottier hingegen ist kein Glattgewebe, es weist auf beiden Seiten feine Schlingen auf, die durch den Webvorgang hochgestellt werden. Ein Frottiertuch fühlt sich weicher an und ist qualitativ hochwertiger als Frottee. 

Bie Frottier kann man weiters zwischen Walk-, Zwirn und Veloursfrottier unterscheiden:
Walkfrottier besteht aus lockeren Schlingen eines weichen Garns, während Zwirnfrottier aus verzwirnten Garnen besteht und fester im Griff ist. Veloursfrottier hingegen ist weich und samtig. Eine hohen Tragekomfort bietet die Kombination aus samtigem Veloursfrottier auf der Aussenseite und dem saugfähigen, kuscheligen Zwirnfrottier auf der Innenseite, wie es bei Bademänteln oft der Fall ist.


Qualitätsmerkmale Frottier
Frottierware wird in Gramm pro Quadratmeter (gr/qm) gemessen und gibt das Gewicht eines Handtuches an. Je höher das Gewicht, desto dicker ist ein Handtuch. Ein höheres Gewicht wird meist mit einem hochwertigerem, luxuriösem und weicherem Handtuch verbunden.

STOFFE

Baumwolle
Baumwolle ist die Naturfaser, die am häufigsten für die Herstellung von Textilien verwendet wird. Sie ist hautfreundlich, atmungsaktiv und dank ihrer Struktur besonders vielseitig.

Damast
Der Stoff besteht aus supergekämmter Baumwolle, ist sehr dicht gewebt und hat einen leichten Glanz. Seinen Namen verdankt er seinem Ursprung, der Syrischen Hauptstadt Damaskus. Das Material besticht durch seine einzigartig eingewebte Musterung, die ihn sehr edel aussehen lässt. Bettwäsche aus Damast ist, wie natürlich jede Baumwolle, sehr hautfreundlich, feuchtigkeitsregulierend und eignet sich sowohl im Sommer als auch im Winter.

Jacquard
Darunter versteht man eine bestimmte Bindungsart für Stoffe, die eine Gestaltung mit Mustern ermöglicht. Der Erfinder war Joseph-Marie Jacquard. Verschiedene Stoffe können in dieser Technik gewebt werden, darunter Baumwolle, Seide, Viskose oder auch synthetische Stoffe. Die bekanntesten Jacquard-Gewebe sind Brokat, Matelassé, oder Damast.
-> Zu unserer Bettwäsche aus Jacquard.

Leinen
Die Fasern dieses Stoffes gelten als besonders langlebig und ökologisch wertvoll. Leinen kann sehr viel Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen, darum ist Leinenbettwäsche besonders im Sommer sehr beliebt. Die Oberfläche des Materials ist glatt und hat eine kühlende Wirkung auf der Haut. Man sagt auch "Leinen ist wie guter Wein" - denn der Stoff entwickelt sich und wird mit jeder Verwendung besser.

Mako-Satin
Einer der feinsten Stoffe für Bettwäsche ist Mako-Satin. Er hat einen dezenten Glanz, wodurch er sehr edel wirkt, er ist zudem glatt, atmungsaktiv und klimaregulierend und ist sowohl für den Sommer als auch im Winter geeignet. Bei der Herstellung wird hochwertige ägyptische Baumwolle verwendet.

Perkal
Der Name kommt aus dem Persischen von pargalah (zu Deutsch: Tuch) und bezeichnet ein dicht gewebtes, mittelschweres, feinfädiges Baumwollgewebe, welches in Leinwandbindung gefertigt wird. Der Stoff ist fest, langlebig und hat eine glatte , hautsympathische Oberfläche. Wegen seiner atmungsaktiven Eigenschaften und der angenehm kühlen Haptik, wird Perkal sehr oft für Sommerbettwäsche verwendet.

Popeline
Dieser feine Stoff hat durch seine Leinwandbindung eine leichte und feine Rippenstruktur mit weichem Fall. Gleichzeitig ist der Popeline durch die spezielle Bindung sehr strapazierfähig.

Satin
Satin ist besonders für seinen Oberflächenglanz bekannt, während der Stoff auf der Unterseite matt ist. Dieses Aussehen verdankt er seiner Herstellung, der Atlasbindung (auch Satinbindung). Bei dieser Bindung überwiegen auf der Oberseite die Schussfäden und auf der Unterseite die Kettfäden.
-> Bettwäsche aus Satin 

Seide
Ein feiner Schimmer und eine edle Optik zeichnet dieses Naturprodukt aus.  Seide liegt kühl auf der Haut und der glatte Stoff sorgt durch seine Leichtigkeit und Atmungsaktivität besonders in warmen Sommernächten für ein angenehmes Hautgefühl. Seide nimmt Feuchtigkeit sehr gut auf und trocknet wiederum sehr schnell. Ein Gewebe, das auch für Allergiker geeignet ist, da die Oberfläche das Einnisten von Hausstaubmilben verhindert.
-> Zu unseren Seiden-Produkten.

Langstapelig vs. kurzstapelig
Die Länge der Fasern bezeichnet man als Stapel.
Für die Herstellung von Luxus Bettwäsche wird meist langstapelige Bio-Baumwolle verwendet. So entstehen lange, starke Baumwollfasern mit besonders guter Qualität, woraus sich langlebigere und weichere Bettwäsche herstellen lässt. Lange Fasern ragen, im Vergleich zu kurzen Fasern, nicht aus dem Stoff heraus. Bettwäsche aus langstapeliger Baumwolle bleibt dauerhaft schön und fusselfrei.

 


Quellen: Wikipedia, Hefel, Kauffmann