-10% on your first online purchase - Code GANS10

Our Down

We love down!

A natural down duvet is always our recommendation - it is wonderfully light, breathable and cuddly. With us you will find the perfect duvet for every season, so that you can enjoy every day of the year through the highest sleeping comfort.

A wonder of nature

Since there is no material that traps more air, down is simply the best filling for blankets. The down quality can be clearly identified by its filling power. Premium qualities made of pure goose down, such as the Gans Royal or Suprême series, have a filling power of more than 450 litres/kg (around 800 cuin)! With the appropriate cotton covers, which are nowadays woven from the finest yarns, and which are 'Nomite' certified, these blankets are also perfect for allergy sufferers. If the right warmth class is chosen, down is neither too warm nor too cool, but simply perfect for a healthy sleep! Our Gans-Team will be happy to inform you in the shop without obligation!

First the down, then the pleasure

Ducks and geese know what they have in their feathers. It is light, it warms and it protects against moisture. The ingenious construction of down creates tiny pockets of air that ensure no heat is lost and moisture is wicked away. Another plus: down is incredibly elastic. We call this property filling power or bulkiness - THE quality feature of a down duvet. It is easy to test the filling power: Place an elephant on your duvet. As soon as the animal is gone, the down will immediately spring back into its original shape.

However, down is not only elastic. They are also natural, sustainable and completely safe for allergy sufferers.
An informative article about this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1Mvx7RhX9E

Pure down, clear conscience

Goose down comforters and down pillows are high-quality brand products for which we use only the very best raw materials. We obtain these from selected suppliers in Europe. The down and feathers come from well-fed, adult animals from harmless animal husbandry. Our down comes neither from live plucking nor from stuffing. Our suppliers are carefully checked, certified accordingly and also regularly inspected.
High quality down has many advantages. They are large flocked, the blankets are filled with less down and are pleasantly light. They have a higher filling power. More air pockets ensure a better temperature balance and moisture exchange. They are significantly more durable and long-lasting. Unlike feathers, down has no hard quills and is therefore much fluffier.

A constant balance between warm and cool, dry and damp creates a particularly cosy feeling. The sleeper never feels cramped. Very important for a deep, restful sleep. Because sleep research knows: on average, people turn over in their bed up to 42 times a night.
It is also interesting and worth mentioning that in a research project of the EDFA by the University of Hohenheim it was investigated to reuse down and feathers in an environmentally and resource friendly way in the future: https://edfa.eu/de/umwelt-recycling/.

Eider down

Eider ducks are rare. Their habitat is limited to Iceland and Greenland. Their offspring are particularly cosy. Because of the extreme cold, they are given a nest made from the mother's breast down. When the little ones have flown out, the abandoned nests are emptied by state-certified collectors. The down collected in this way is then sorted by hand, hygienically processed, washed and dried. Characteristic for eider down is the dark beige colour as well as the unusually many branchings, which stick like burrs. They also ensure that blankets with eiderdown are the best, warmest and lightest of their kind.

But before we go into raptures here for a long time, just come and see for yourself what we mean.

Animal welfare is a big concern for us

And because the best is always so close at hand, we pay particular attention to where our materials come from: as much as possible from Austria and Europe.
Because we work and manage sustainably, animal welfare is also a special concern for us. Because if we treat the geese, our most important suppliers, well, they will also deliver perfect quality. Of course, they do this only after their demise. We do not pluck out a single feather while they are still alive. As a guarantee for you, our down and feathers are RDS certified according to the highest standard, which is also recommended by animal welfare organizations.

You see: Your good night's sleep is the result of responsible work.

Warmth grades of down comforters

As we are unfortunately not able to advise you as well in our online shop as we can in a branch, we have created a table for you. So you can easily choose the right thickness of your duvet.

Daune von Gans

Wir lieben Daunen!

Eine natürliche Daunendecke ist immer unsere Empfehlung - sie ist herrlich leicht, atmungsaktiv und anschmiegsam. Bei uns finden Sie die perfekte Decke für jede Jahreszeit, damit Sie jeden Tag im Jahr durch höchsten Schlafkomfort geniessen können. 

Ein Wunder der Natur

Da es kein Material gibt, das mehr Luft einschließt, sind Daunen einfach die beste Füllung für Decken. Die Daunenqualität ist klar über deren Füllkraft erkennbar. Premiumqualitäten aus reiner Gänsedaune, wie die Gans Royal- oder Suprême-Serie, haben eine Füllkraft von mehr als 450 Liter / Kg (rund 800 cuin)! Mit den entsprechenden Baumwoll-Hüllen, die heute aus den feinsten Garnen gewoben werden, und die ‘Nomite‘ zertifiziert sind, sind diese Decken auch perfekt für Allergiker geeignet. Wenn die richtige Wärmeklasse gewählt wird, ist Daune weder zu warm noch zu kühl, sondern einfach perfekt für einen gesunden Schlaf! Unsere Gans-FachberaterInnen informieren Sie sehr gerne unverbindlich im Geschäft!

Zuerst die Daune, dann das Vergnügen

Enten und Gänse wissen, was sie an ihrem Federkleid haben. Es ist leicht, es wärmt und es schützt vor Feuchtigkeit. Die geniale Konstruktion der Federn lässt kleinste Lufteinschlüsse entstehen, die dafür sorgen, dass keine Wärme verloren geht und Feuchtigkeit abtransportiert wird. Noch ein Plus: Daunen sind unglaublich elastisch. Diese Eigenschaft nennen wir Füllkraft. Die Füllkraft lässt sich leicht testen: Stellen Sie einen Elefanten auf Ihr Federbett. Sobald das Tier weg ist, werden die Daunen sofort wieder in ihre Ausgangsform zurückspringen.

Daunen sind aber nicht nur elastisch. Sie sind auch natürlich, nachhaltig und für Allergiker völlig unbedenklich.

Reine Daune, reines Gewissen

Gans-Daunendecken und Daunenpölster sind hochwertige Markenprodukte, für die wir nur allerbeste Rohware verwenden. Diese beziehen wir von ausgesuchten Lieferanten in Europa. Die Daunen und Federn kommen von gut genährten, ausgewachsenen Tieren aus unbedenklicher Tierhaltung. Unsere Daunen stammen weder aus Lebendrupf noch aus Stopftierhaltung. Unsere Zulieferer werden genauestens geprüft, entsprechend zertifiziert und auch regelmäßig kontrolliert.
Hochwertige Daunen haben viele Vorteile. Sie sind großflockig, die Decken werden mit weniger Daunen gefüllt und sind angenehm leicht. Sie haben eine höhere Füllkraft. Mehr Lufteinschlüsse sorgen für einen besseren Temperaturausgleich und Feuchtigkeitsaustausch. Sie sind bedeutend langlebiger und strapazierfähiger.

Durch einen ständigen Ausgleich zwischen warm und kühl, trocken und feucht entsteht ein besonders behagliches Kuschelgefühl. Der Schläfer fühlt sich nie beengt. Sehr wichtig für einen tiefen, erholsamen Schlaf. Denn die Schlafforschung weiß: Durchschnittlich wendet sich der Mensch bis zu 42 Mal in der Nacht in seinem Bett.

Eiderdaunen

Eiderenten sind selten. Ihr Lebensraum beschränkt sich auf Island und Grönland. Ihr Nachwuchs hat es besonders kuschelig. Denn aufgrund der großen Kälte bekommt er ein Nest aus dem Brustflaum der Mutter. Wenn die Kleinen ausgeflogen sind, werden die verlassenen Nester von staatlich geprüften Sammlern entleert. Die so gesammelten Daunen werden dann von Hand sortiert, hygienisch aufbereitet, gewaschen und getrocknet. Charakteristisch für Eiderdaunen sind die dunkelbeige Farbe sowie die außergewöhnlich vielen Verästelungen, die wie Kletten haften. Sie sorgen auch dafür, dass Decken mit Eiderdaunen die besten, wärmsten und leichtesten ihrer Art sind.

Aber bevor wir hier lange ins Schwärmen kommen, kommen Sie doch einfach einmal zu uns und spüren Sie selbst, was wir meinen. 

Tierschutz ist uns ein großes Anliegen

Und weil das Beste stets so nahe liegt, achten wir besonders darauf, woher unsere Materialien kommen: so viel wie möglich aus Österreich und Europa.
Weil wir nachhaltig arbeiten und wirtschaften, ist uns auch der Tierschutz ein besonderes Anliegen. Denn wenn wir die Gänse, unsere wichtigsten Lieferanten, gut behandeln, liefern sie auch perfekte Qualität. Das tun sie selbstverständlich erst nach ihrem Ableben. Lebend rupfen wir ihnen keine einzige Feder aus. Als Garantie für Sie, sind unsere Daunen und Federn nach dem höchsten Standard, der auch von Tierschutzorganisationen empfohlen wird, mit einem RDS-Zertifikat versehen. 

Sie sehen: Ihr guter Schlaf ist das Resultat verantwortungsvoller Arbeit.

Wärmegrade Daunendecken

Da wir sie in unserem Online-Shop leider nicht so gut beraten können wie in einer Filiale, haben wir für Sie eine Tabelle erstellt.
So können Sie sich ganz einfach die richtige Stärke Ihrer Decke auswählen.