-10% on your first online purchase - Code GANS10

Animal welfare / Responsibility

Animal welfare is a major concern for us

And because the best is always so close at hand, we pay particular attention to where our materials come from: as much as possible from Austria and Europe.
Because we work and manage sustainably, animal welfare is also of particular concern to us. Because if we treat the geese, our most important suppliers, well, they will also deliver perfect quality. Of course, they only do this after they have died. We do not pluck out a single feather while they are still alive. As a guarantee for you, our down and feathers are RDS certified according to the highest standard, which is also recommended by animal welfare organizations.
You see: Your good night's sleep is the result of responsible work.

Tierwohl-Richtlinie - Animal Welfare Policy

Status June 2017

  1. Our responsibility
    As a leading company of high-quality bedding, we assume a social responsibility for the observance of animal-friendly and sustainable husbandry conditions. This relates in particular to freedom from hunger and thirst, pain and injury, and fear and suffering.
  2. Purchasing suppliers
    Animal welfare aspects are taken into account in our purchasing processes for all products that contain raw materials of animal origin. The principles, measures and goals defined for this purpose represent a binding framework for action for our suppliers and the entire Gans team. In addition, the Gans range always includes alternatives made from plant-based or synthetic materials.
  3. Standards-Auditing-Control
    Transparency of the supply chain and traceability are of central importance for a sustainable assortment. Certification for this must be carried out according to the highest standards in the respective product areas and must be audited by independent control bodies. Down and feathers used in our products are therefore certified exclusively according to the strict Responsible Down Standard (RDS). Compliance with this standard is monitored by an independent company (Control Union).
  4. Declaration of animal materials
    a) Down and feathers: Certified according to RDS without exception: Live plucking and stuffing of geese and ducks is thus excluded!
    b) Wool (Merino): Complete ban on mulesing. The Responsible Wool Standard serves as a guideline.
    c) (Wild) Silk: Obligation of our suppliers that only ethically produced silk may be processed.
    d) Cashmere: Commitment by our suppliers that only wool from producers who are classified by us as unobjectionable will be used.
    e) Furs, skins or hides: We generally do NOT purchase any!

KUSCHELAKTION -15% auf alles, Code HOME15

Tierschutz / Verantwortung

 

Tierschutz ist uns ein großes Anliegen

Und weil das Beste stets so nahe liegt, achten wir besonders darauf, woher unsere Materialien kommen: so viel wie möglich aus Österreich und Europa.
Weil wir nachhaltig arbeiten und wirtschaften, ist uns auch der Tierschutz ein besonderes Anliegen. Denn wenn wir die Gänse, unsere wichtigsten Lieferanten, gut behandeln, liefern sie auch perfekte Qualität. Das tun sie selbstverständlich erst nach ihrem Ableben. Lebend rupfen wir ihnen keine einzige Feder aus. Als Garantie für Sie, sind unsere Daunen und Federn nach dem höchsten Standard, der auch von Tierschutzorganisationen empfohlen wird, mit einem RDS-Zertifikat versehen. 
Sie sehen: Ihr guter Schlaf ist das Resultat verantwortungsvoller Arbeit.

 

Tierwohl-Richtlinie - Animal Welfare Policy

Stand Juni 2017

  1. Unsere Verantwortung
    Als führendes Unternehmen hochwertigster Bettwaren übernehmen wir eine gesellschaftliche Verantwortung für die Einhaltung von tiergerechten und nachhaltigen Haltungsbedingungen. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Freiheit von Hunger und Durst, Schmerz und Verletzung sowie Angst und Leid.
  2. Einkauf-Lieferanten
    Für alle Produkte, die Rohstoffe tierischen Ursprungs enthalten, werden Tierwohlaspekte in unseren Einkaufsprozessen berücksichtigt. Die hierzu definierten Grundsätze, Maßnahmen und Ziele stellen einen verbindlichen Handlungsrahmen für unsere Lieferanten und das gesamte Gans-Team dar. Außerdem enthält das Gans-Sortiment immer Alternativen aus pflanzlichen oder synthetischen Materialien.
  3. Standards-Auditierung-Kontrolle
    Für eine nachhaltige Sortimentsgestaltung sind die Transparenz der Lieferkette und die Rückverfolgbarkeit von zentraler Bedeutung. Die Zertifizierung hierzu hat in den jeweiligen Warenbereichen nach den höchsten Standards zu erfolgen und ist durch unabhängige Kontrollinstanzen zu prüfen. Daunen und Federn, die in unseren Produkten verwendet werden, sind deshalb ausschließlich nach dem strengen Responsible Down Standard (RDS) zertifiziert. Die Einhaltung dieses Standards wird von einem unabhängigen Unternehmen (Control Union) überwacht.
  4. Deklaration tierischer Materialien
    a)  Daunen und Federn: Ausnahmslos nach RDS zertifiziert: Lebendrupf und Stopfmast von Gänsen und Enten ist damit ausgeschlossen!
    b)  Wolle (Merino): Komplettes Verbot von Mulesing. Als Richtlinie dient der Responsible Wool Standard.
    c)  (Wild-) Seide: Verpflichtung unserer Lieferanten, dass ausschließlich ethisch hergestellte Seide zur Verarbeitung kommen darf.
    d)  Kaschmir: Festlegung unserer Lieferanten, dass nur Wolle von Produzenten verwendet wird, die von uns als unbedenklich eingestuft werden.
    e)  Pelze, Felle oder Häute: Werden von uns generell NICHT eingekauft!